The Importance of Positivity

positive and negative

In all of our lives, we tend to go through periods of change. We grow as people, and we are (hopefully) in a constant state of personal growth towards a better future. No matter what stage of life we’re in, we are constantly adapting to an ever-changing environment.

One effect of this constant state of reaction to the world is that we can often be caught up in the flow of things. I’ve written before about the importance of maintaining forward momentum, but another aspect of that is the importance of maintaining a positive outlook in relation to the changes you are always going to be going through. We all experience periods of sadness, happiness, productivity, laziness, and other polarized periods of good and bad states.

No matter how happy you are, or how productive you are, you will always slip into a less happy, less productive state. That’s just the way the mind works. If we were always 100% happy and 100% productive, we wouldn’t have a relative point to compare our success to.

Even if we can’t control the ups and downs flowing in our lives, one thing that we absolutely can control is our mental state. No matter what life throws at us, it is possible to always maintain a certain level of stability in our thought patterns. We may be discouraged by external circumstances, however we can train ourselves to brush off all external negativity to create an unshakable sense of peace within our mind. Yes, we will still fluctuate between highs and lows, but our positive peace of mind can be maintained with some intentional reinforcement.

There’re whole books about creating positive self-talk, so I’ll keep this succinct: every word you say to yourself should be positive, encouraging, and uplifting. We have enough negativity around us without facing judgement from within. YOU are the only reliable source of pure positivity, so you must train yourself to always utilize positive thought. Each time you catch yourself thinking badly about yourself, reframe it in a positive light. You might think, “I’m so fat! I hate being fat, I wish I could be thin faster and easier like those other guys!” Reframe that thought into, “What can I do to lose weight faster? I’m so excited to improve my health. Soon, I will succeed in my fitness goals. I can be fit if I keep on working at it!” This is essentially the same thought process, but completely shifted into a positive light.

Form a picture in your mind of where you’d like to be in a year’s time. Do you see yourself healthier, wealthier, and wiser? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you reach that next level of success? For myself, I see a bright, bright future ahead. I feel the warm golden glow of that beautiful future, and when I think about where I will be in a year I feel an incredible excitement to get there.

First, figure out where you want to be. Second, figure out what you’re going to do to get yourself there. Third, envision your successful future and grab hold of that great feeling and never let go. That’s all there is to it, my friends.

Related reading:

http://therationalmale.com/2012/02/23/looks-count/

https://heartiste.wordpress.com/2007/09/24/a-critical-moment/

